Thank you! Your feedback helps us improve.

Move docs between folders and workspaces

Learn about the different options and considerations when moving docs to a new folder or even a new workspace


Sometimes docs need to be moved to new folders or workspaces. Maybe you want to move your to a shared folder, so everyone in your workspace can automatically have access. Or maybe you want to move your doc to a private folder to restrict access. Or maybe you need to move your doc to an entirely different workspace. This can be done in a few easy clicks!


Before you move a doc

Before you can move a doc between folders or workspaces, you'll need to make sure all of the following are true:

  1. You are a Doc Maker

  2. You’ve been granted manage access to the current folder

    1. Only people with “can manage” access to a folder can move docs out of that folder

  3. You have edit or manage access to the destination folder

    1. Only people with “can edit” or “can manage” access to a folder can move docs into that folder

If you will be moving the doc to a different workspace...

  1. You will need to be a member of the destination workspace

  2. The doc owner is a Doc Maker in the destination workspace

Once you've determined that you meet the criteria above, you’re ready to move the doc.

 

Move a doc to a new folder or workspace

You can either move a doc from the doc list or from within the doc itself.

From the doc list:

Simply click the three horizontal dots ( ... ) to the right of the doc title and choose Move from the dropdown. You’ll see a dropdown with a list of all the workspaces you’re a member of (with the current workspace the doc lives in set by default), and a list of all folders in that workspace below. You can also search for a specific folder using the search bar. Select which folder to move the doc to, and hit Move to complete.

Tip: You can find subfolders (Team and Enterprise plans only) nested under their parent folders. Click the > icon to open the parent folder until you find the desired subfolder, or simply use the search bar to locate the subfolder by name.

Move doc to new folder (from doc list).gif

From within the doc itself:

Click on the three-dot menu in the upper-right corner, then select Move doc. You’ll see the same dialogue as before, where you can choose which folder and workspace to move to.

move doc entrypoint (within doc).png

📣 Running into issues when trying to move a doc? If the move button is greyed out, this means you do not have permission to move the doc. Make sure to check out the “Before you move a doc” section above to make sure all prerequisite conditions are met.

 

Move multiple docs at once

If you need to move multiple docs at once, you can do this from the doc list. Hover over each doc, and you should see a checkbox appear to the left of the doc title. Check the box for all the docs you’d like to move, then click the Move button towards the top of the doc list. You'll see the same pop-up, asking you to choose where to move these docs.

move multiple docs at once (from doc list).gif
 

FAQs

I'm trying to move a doc across workspaces but I get an error that the doc owner isn't a maker in the destination workspace. How do I fix this?

You'll see this happen if the owner of the doc is not a Doc Maker in the destination workspace. To resolve this, you will first need to invite the doc owner to the destination workspace, and ensure they are given a Doc Maker role.

Who has the ability to move docs?
To move a doc, you need to be a Doc Maker and have “can manage” access to the folder it currently lives in. Only people with “can manage” access can move docs out of a folder.
 
You’ll also need edit or manage access to the destination folder. Therefore, the places you can move a doc to are limited to the workspaces and folders you have access to. Check out the “Before you move a doc” section for the full list of requirements.
 
Note that even if you’re a workspace admin, you still need “can manage” access to the doc’s current folder to move it.
Will moving a doc to a different folder or workspace change who has access to the doc?

Who has access to a doc may change when the doc is moved, depending on the new location of the doc. This is because doc access is impacted by the folder in which that doc resides.

For instance, imagine the doc was previously within a folder that had been shared with a select group of people. You then move that doc to a folder that has not been shared with anyone. Unless you'd explicitly invited those previous folder members to the doc, they will lose access to the doc when you move it into the private folder. If needed, you can then simply invite those members to the doc or folder.

The same is true for subfolders. When you move a doc into a subfolder, the doc takes on that subfolder's access. Keep in mind a subfolder doesn't always share the exact access of its parent folder - if someone turned off Shared with parent folder to restrict it, moving a doc in there could give (or remove) access for a different set of people than the parent folder would. When in doubt, check the subfolder's Share menu before moving.

Learn more about how folders impact doc access here.

When I create a new doc, what folder is it added to?

By default, when you create a doc, it’s added to your My Docs folder. However, if you create a doc from within a given folder (via the + Create doc button there), then the doc will be added to that specific folder.

Does every doc have to belong to a folder?

Yes!

 


Related resources

Was this article helpful?

Tell us what you think. We promise to act on your feedback to make Grammarly's support pages even more helpful.
Have more questions? Submit a request